Song Samples:
Damn Right I'm Somebody
Cross the Track / Thelonious

T.J. Kirk
Talking Only Makes It Worse

Will Bernard - guitar
John Schott - guitar
Charlie Hunter - 8-string guitar, bass
Scott Amendola - drums, percussion

produced by Scott Amendola with help from Lee Townsend

recorded by: Christian Jones
mixed by Jon Evans at San Pablo Recorders, Berkeley, California
mastered by: Ken Lee

Ropeadope Records


Song List

1. Soul Power
2. Four In One
3. Bemsha Swing
4. Skippy
5. Damn Right I'm Somebody
6. Cross the Track/Thelonious
7. Now Please Don't You Cry, Beautiful Edith
8. Epistrophy
9. The Payback
10. Teo
11. Get On The Good Foot / Rock Hard In A
Funky Place
12. Jackie-ing
13. Meeting At Termini's Corner / I Got A Bag Of My Own / Brilliant Corners


Talking Only Makes It Worse is an instrumental jazz lover’s dream come true..... On display for all to hear is the ability of these four exceptional musician to interpret and re-orchestrate classic compositions form some of the true masters of jazz and funk.

The James Brown covers, most notably “Soul Power”, “Damn Right I Am Somebody” and “The Payback” navigate through some of the funkiest bass lines ever recorded.... The true standouts on this album are the treatments of the Thelonious Monk compositions.... Rashaan Roland Kirk’s “Now Please Don’t You Cry, Beautiful Edith” is the lone ballad on this record and is a very tender treatment by the three soloists backed up by Amendola’s artistic brushwork..... As far as live recordings go, the sound quality is exceptional. Jeffrey Fishman, Walls Webzine